clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dennis Smith Jr. named to All-NBA Summer League First Team

The Maverick rookie makes an early impact

NBA: Summer League-Dallas Mavericks at Los Angeles Lakers Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

Dennis Smith Jr. has been named to the All-NBA First Team, joining the Atlanta HawksJohn Collins, the Phoenix SunsJosh Smith, Portland Trail BlazersCaleb Swanigan, and Summer League MVP Lonzo Ball of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Smith dominated Summer League early and often, averaging 17.3 points, 4.8 rebounds, 4.2 assists, and 2.2 steals. While Smith’s electrifying athleticism turned heads early in pool play, he displayed a very well rounded game throughout the week.

He paired a great looking shot from distance with an ability to get to the rim at ease. His floor game was also quite solid and had his teammates finished more of the easy looks he provided, he might have made a stronger run at the MVP award. Defensively Smith was also a bit of a surprise, showing a great deal of energy and using his athleticism to his advantage.

Previous Mavericks to win honors at Las Vegas Summer League include Jae Crowder and Dominique Jones’ 2012 selections to the All-Tournament team. Jones also made All-NBA Summer League First team in 2010. J.J. Barea also made the First Team in 2007. Former Second Team selections from Dallas were Dwight Powell in 2015, Maurice Ager in 2006, and Josh Powell in 2005.

See all of Smith’s Summer League highlights below.